Discover the History of Les Augustins Church
Located in the center of the Old Port, at the crossroads of Rue de la République, Quai du Port and Quai des Belges, you can't miss it. Indeed, its immaculate white facade contrasts with the adjoining buildings of the 1st arrondissement.
When they settled in Marseille, the Augustinians monastic order received this area near the port in 1367, in a zone then occupied by the galleys' arsenal. On this site there was first a chapel, then a church was built, whose work began slowly in 1447, with the wood recovered from a galley, and continued until 1588.
It was consecrated in 1542, long before its construction was completed! This particularity is explained by the visit of Pope Clement VII to the Augustins Church to escort his niece Catherine de Médicis, who was recently married to the Duke of Orléans.
The neo-baroque façade dates only from the 19th century. The building has therefore experienced many changes and improvements over the centuries. Only the master walls of the nave and side chapels date from the original construction phase. At the beginning of the 19th century it took the name of Saint Ferréol martyr of the 4th century who gave his name to a street and many churches in Marseille. Indeed, it recovered its name following the destruction in 1794 of the Saint-Ferréol Church, then located on Place Saint-Ferréol.
Inside, there are many pieces of great artistic or historical value. The bust of Saint Ferréol dates from the 18th century, the pulpit which dates from the same period is classified as a historical monument. The polychrome marble altar that strikes the visitor as soon as he enters is by the Marseille artist Dominique Fossati.
Today, the Church is still open to the public who wish to pray in Marseille.